Why I like the CFL

I thought I would make a small little post on why I like to watch the CFL.

It's simple and maybe I'm brainwashed a little bit by their marketing team, but when I was going to high school their theme was "Radically Canadian". And I totally bought into it as a kid. Now-a-days the theme has become "This is our league". I like that. I like the fact this little league, on the eve of the 100th Grey Cup, is simply a Canadian league. An 8 league team wouldn't last very long anywhere else...(UFL). I'd rather support a team (argos) in a league that's in my own backyard. It's affordable, it's easy to get to.

And I really dont buy into this theory about the quality of the game comparing it to the NFL. We debate about this all the time at work. I'm not a professional analyst but to me, football is football. There are obvious differences between the two leagues, but the basics of the game are the no?

I'd watch NFL, if I was living in a market for them, but I honestly can't get behind it. There are a ton of buffalo bills fans in the city who think theyre headed our way. I don't think so. Once Ralph Wilson goes, theres either gonna be a buyer willing to keep it in Buffalo, or another clown willing to move it to another US city. Even their marketing for the stupid Bills In Toronto series is terrible. Calling the Bills "our team". The bills aren't Torontos team, they are Buffalos team.

With Ottawa comming back things couldn't be better for the league. I would like to see some expansion with the CFL out east. They really need a team out there. No more teasing with touchdown atlantic games. Give them a team and it'll flourish. It's about time.

There's alot of history with our league, support it and be proud of it. Its truly a Canadian game.

Well said. Couldn’t agree more.

Great post frankerton1985! :rockin:

you hit the nail on the head frankerton. :thup:

and welcome to the forums. :smiley: