What are suppose to be good attendance numbers for the CFL? I am new to watching

I am new to watching the CFL, and I am having fun learning the game and the players, but I am worried the league might go under due to supposedly “low attendance.” I thought 17,000 to 25,000 attendance numbers would be good, but according to these form posts they’re not.

It depends on who’s playing, and where - and the weather. Toronto, Montreal, and BC have problems getting 20,000 to attend, but the others don’t seem to have as much of a problem, with most of the western teams getting over 25,000 on a regular basis.

Don’t worry about this league surviving, worry about the people who want it to go under and make posts to that end thinking others don’t know better.

I don’t get into all the minutia of attendance numbers and ratings and all that jazz. It’s a fun league, and there’s nothing else really going on in the summer except boring sports like Baseball, Soccer, Golf and Tennis.

Let’s not get into denigrating other sports, they all have their fans and those things are interesting to them. There are enough people trolling the CFL sites that we don’t need to do the same.

Let’s take what you said for the simple truth of it. It’s a fun league with players that are damn near the top of their profession playing mostly for the love of the game. There are few entitled millionaires in this league to turn people off.

So let’s just enjoy it, like you meant, and see the positives instead of this constant dwelling on the negative that some post here (not meaning you Vermonter - I miss the cheerleader thread, especially the Felions) which doesn’t help anything or improve the enjoyment.

For East division teams, stadium capacity is something like 22,000-25,000, so I’d say that attendance numbers in that range are good.

For West division teams, capacity is larger, from 28,000 and up to 50,000+. Numbers in the 27,000+ range are good for those teams (30,000+ for Edmonton and Saskatchewan).