Video Review Sep. 23 WPG@TOR

(pardon if i've not got the right thread, this is my first time posting, and I've not found anywhere on the cfl.ca home page with contact information to address this issue)

In the September 23rd contest that saw the Toronto Argonauts hositin the Winipeg Blue Bombers, Coach Micheal Clemmons challenged the call on the feild that an incomplete pass was infact a fumble resulting in Toronto having possesion of the ball.

In the instant replay (wich is actually used in the Sirus Hits of the Week # 12) it is quite clear that Winipeg reciever #88 had control of the football and had planted BOTH feet on the ground, then while turning his shoulders to begin moving down field was hit by Toronto defender #30.

At the point of contact, Toronto defender #30 caused the ball to come out of the hands of Winipeg reciever #88. There was a resulting scramble for the ball, in wich Toronto would have gained possiesion. The official however whistled the play dead, and ruled the pass as incomplete.

I would like to argue that had Toronto #30 not been there to make contact with Winipeg #88, he ( #88 ) would have turned downfield and contined to gain yards and maintain possesion of the football for the Winipeg Football Club.

As an avid fan of the Canadian game I feel this is a grave misjudgement by the officials, and that this is a horrible misinterpertation of possesion of the football.

An example is that many scrambling quarterbacks hold the football with one or two hands infront of thier body (just as Winipeg #88 did on the play in question).

If the interpritation in the September 23rd contest was to set precedence, any player advancing the football could simply hold the ball out infront of himself, and not ever fumble. (I understand that this is a bit of an exageration, but the officiating has left me extremely frustrated)

I have added an oppinion poll so other CFL fans can agree or disagree to the grossness of this issue.