The type of person Mike is...

I know i could put this in a thread but considering my phone was ringing off the hook today with friends asking me “how i took the news” i figured i would put it here… mods feel free to move it if its overkill.

By now most of the people on this site (and probably more from the old site) know im the biggest Mike Morreale fan around… well perhaps its time i really explain why…

Almost 10 years ago I was a high school student looking to take Radio Broadcasting in College, I was doing co-op at McMaster radio learning as much as I could about the business. The time came for an end of the year project… something to show what I could do. I figured an interview would be perfect for me, since at the time I wanted to be a sportscaster of some sort.

I called Philthy McNastys and left a voicemail for Mike Morreale… asking if there was any way he could give me an interview for my assignment, not expecting to hear back I tried to figure out what else I could do in the line of sports. Then one night the phone rang at home and i answered it… The person asked for me and he said “Its Mike Morreale from the Hamilton Tiger Cats returning your call”… i was shocked… not even 24 hours later he returned my call and told me he would love to meet me at McMaster one day (this is in the middle of the 1998 season) to do my interview.

The next week Mike came down and gave me a full 30 minute interview about football, personal and everything else I could think of, but the part that most impressed me was that he didnt care to see the questions first… what started as a structured interview turned into two people talking football, and at 16 years old he treated me with the upmost respect and dignity like this interview was a national interview on CBC.