The Art of the Steal: 10 hidden CFL Draft gems

With the 2022 CFL Draft just around the corner, CFL.ca’s Marshall Ferguson checks in with 10 draft day steals.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.cfl.ca/2022/04/14/the-art-of-the-steal-10-hidden-cfl-draft-gems/

I'm not surprised that Sean Thomas Erlington is on this list or that he's that high on the list because MF has always had a soft spot for him. But he's a backup at his position, not an every day player & that is one thing that distinguishes him from the others on this list. Personally I don't get it but I'm no expert. How he ends up in the company of Sinopoli, Lokombo, Gittens & Boateng near the top is a complete mystery to me. But that's me. :astonished:

I'm guessing because he was drafted so low?

Looking at the write-up on Howell, a round 7 pick is meant to be some no-name at the bottom of the roster who only plays special teams.

Sean T-E was drafted one round further down than that, so I guess he should have been training camp/pre-season fodder, but instead he's stuck around.

STE was a late rounder who not only stuck around but has been a starting RB with some very fine play for the Ticats. Shouldn't have been a big surprise to those who saw the guy play for the Carabins and a Vanier winning team.

OK - granted he was a late rounder & has had 12 starts in 44 games. So where does Johnny Augustine rate then? Undrafted, 6.8 yd/carry avg -full yard better than T-E? His chances of starting this year, with Harris gone, are a lot better than T-E's chances behind Jackson.