The Als are in trouble!

[url=http://www.canada.com/montrealgazette/news/sports/alouettes/story.html?id=5cf458b6-5cc0-4f63-8965-aaa59f4501db&k=79561]http://www.canada.com/montrealgazette/n ... db&k=79561[/url]

According to the Gazette, the As will name Trestmann the head coach. Every CFL coordinator has refused to work with him...

It seems that Trestmann is Popp's choice... Wettenhall wanted Burrato, Smith wanted Marshall. So, Popp wins again... What does this guy have on the organisation? Blackmail is everywhere... I hope that we will not relive AGAIN the death of the Als, and the concordes...

I’ve been saying for six months now tha Smith and Wettenhaul are as responisble for the problems with this team as anybody. They set out with 5 recruiting criterias bothered about every orgs in the league and ignored their own hiring criterias in the process losing the only 2 quality coachs they had left.

The Als have basicaly isolated themselves from the CFL coaching fraternity and this will have a long term negative impact on the team.

They will either look like genius or they will take the team down with them. There is no in between outcomes possible here.

Does seem a little questionable on the surface.
IMO if Trestmann comes in with a heavy hand the veteran players will rebel especially the Canadian ones.
Its always a bit funny when a new coach comes into the CFL and will say "all jobs are open yadi yadi". When most people know they can't replace their starting Canadians. Maybe Trestmann will surprise everybody and not go that route, but the CFL is a different game as most Americans find out the hard way.

I don't like this move. Quite frankly, I'm appalled that Wetenhall and Smith have let the coaching situation deteriorate to the point where we now have a HC with zero CFL experience, no OC, no DC, no special-teams coordinator, and no guarantee that we'll be able to get CFL-ready people to fill those positions.