Stupid is as stupid does

http://www.tsn.ca/cfl/story/?id=409477

I made this thread not to just single out the really stupid tweet of just that one player - but as a request for all Coaches to tell their players kids look up to them - kids emulate them. If I was a Head Coach I would completely ban all players from posting anything not sport related ... If this keeps up we are looking at a CFL Darwin stupid posts award :roll:

Personally I'm getting fed up seeing these so called paid professional athletes stick both feet in their mouths by making remarks because they are either totally ignorant or they think they're being funny.

Why would Lewis, or anyone make a joke in reference to such a tragedy? How utterly disrespectful. I don't care what Lewis's stats are or his athletic ability. These guys need their devices strategically placed where the sun don't shine. What is wrong with these guys? Lewis attended university, so he must have something between those ears. Mitchell graduated with a Communications degrees and yet you'd think they were raised without social values, discretion or any other of the basic social graces. I also get sick and tired of hearing guys defend these characters by saying," Uh...well it was just an error in judgement. He apologized," blah blah.

Lewis is 30 years old. He's intelligent and old enough to know better and even guys less intelligent know better and show more common sense. Maybe it is just arrogance. " I am Nik Lewis, I can say whatever I want...even in jest." He doesn't need his coach to hold his hand and say, "Now, now Nikki, no more tweeting until the playoffs are over."

I really would like the CFL to disclose what sort of so called fine these guys get for such remarks. That would tell us just how serious the CFL is taking this garbage.