I am sure you all know That I have always backed the refs here on this forum but I cant with this answer in the Ask the ref section.
Tuesday, November 1, 2005 - 12:30PM
The officials were criticized for a chop block call last Saturday in the Montreal at Ottawa game.
The chop block rule states:
"Chop blocking means contacting an opponent at or below the knees at the time that opponent is already being engaged by another player, with or without actual physical contact."
In the play last Saturday, the defensive tackle was advancing on the Ottawa centre who was retreating in a pass blocking stance (therefore he was engaged, without contact). Then he was hit at the knees by the left guard. Therefore we have a chop block.
This call was correct.
George R. Black
Director of Officiating
Canadian Football League
Engaged with out contact??????????
By that definition everyone on the field is engaged with out contact!!!!!
Does this mean that I cannot dive in front of a defenders knees to take him out of the play because he was engaged with out contact with the ball carrier?
I agree that it is written that way in the rule book but geez!!!!