Sister City Preseason Game

Something I just thought I'd float out there for the CFL to consider. Perhaps to generate regional interest amongst the various teams, they each play a pre-season game in a different nearby city. Something like Hamilton plays in London or Sask plays in Saskatoon. Your thoughts?

as long as there is a stadium. The Riders sold out their last few season preseason games. That is a nice lil extra chunk of revenue.

I have been calling for many years here on this board how there should be 3 pre season games for each team and with the standard two as now being home and away.
With the rub being how the third game is a neutral site game for each team. So there would be 4 neutral site games each year and that would enable the home team to develop their territory or with the league in showcasing a potential expansion city like Moncton or Saskatoon etc…
In essence, the 4 teams would rotate each successive years.

I agree with this idea. Although, I believe there would be some logistical problems. Especially playing games in smaller stadiums. It would be nice to see the Lions play an Exhibition game in Victoria or Montreal play in Quebec City for example.

I like the idea of 3 preseason games, but why not make each team play 1 in a host city EVERY year. There are a few cities that could easily host a game a year...Saskatoon, Red Deer, Penticton (or in that valley area somewhere), St John (I always thought Newfoundland could hold a franchise), Laval, Quebec city, Atlantic Moncton/Halifax. There would also be a few cities in the US that it might be a good idea to play the odd one in...Bismarck, Spokane, Great Falls, Fargo, Grand Forks, Minot...borderish cities that actually take interest in our game. We may gain a little more support for our beloved sport, and more interest in a bigger TV contract in the US....