Showboating

I was just looking at Esks123 signature with the Calgary players all lying on the ground together in a TD celebration and it got me thinking how much I hate that kind of staged celebration.

Does it tick anybody else off out there?

I was thinking If I was a coach and a team did that to me on my home turf, I would tell each and every one of defensive secondary players to go get in the way of that celebration.

Would I be overreacting, or justified?

A little ball spike and celebration is OK, but, this staged side show crap is not right.

I wouldn't like it if the Cats did it and don't like it when visiting teams do it.

Anybody else get as upset as I do when I see this crap?

re-I would tell each and every one of defensive secondary players to go get in the way of that celebration.
---------- Thats the way to deal with it in Hockey, (drop the gloves)- but cant do that in football, Maybe resort to wrestling tactics, Like throwing salt in the eyes?when the refs distracted of course!

I would LOVE to have a reason for us to do a little showboating :wink: I do see your point. It can be annoying, but I do have to say that my all-time favourite TD celebration was DJ Flick's canoe in the endzone. That was classic.

Telling your defense to get in the way is just asking for a penalty and it's showing the team that it bothers you. I would never give them that much satisfaction.

I for ONE ... LOVE endzone CELEBRATIONS !!

To me it SUGGESTS these guys are ACTUALLY ENJOYING themselves !!

From my perspective, sports are as much about ENTERTAINMENT as they are about the 'game' itself.

It is a MANIFESTATION of ENERGY - and I think it gives FANS a little sumthin sumthin EXTRA for their ENTERTAINMENT $$$.

Some celebrations are BETTER than others. Some are a little OVER the TOP ... but just like the song says "ya take the good, ya take the bad, ya take them both, and there you have ... ".

Peace.