Salary Cap Bad

I know, not another salary cap post.......we all seem to agree that the cap is good for the league, but there is a down side to it as well

a) will it make teams better cheaters at getting around the rules

b) will the owners get rich off it, keeping a substantial portion of what should be player salaries for themselves

c) will it scare off talented players from considering the cfl, what about canadian players, will they no longer see the cfl as an option

There are probably several more reasons against a cap but how do you feel about these.....argue away

This kind of brings me to a question. I'm a newbie to all this so I am wondering, NFL is the number one football league, so who is considered number 2? I know there is NFL Europe and this Arena league, but where does the CFL fit in?

.....silly Rob.....the CFL is the number one league..... :smiley:

Ditto for me, its the CFL on top of the mountain and then there is the rest. Absolutely no competition.

Most CFL fans(including me) consider them to be very different league that require different skill sets, so it's like asking who is considered the #1 league, the NBA or MLB or NFL or NHL?

When discussing the entertainment package, there is no other sporting event that can compare.

To me, the CFL's goal should be to strive for the #2 position. To do that, you've got to be able to pay players a good salary. The news articles talk about players working at other jobs in the offseason, you don't hear that with NFL players.

3.8million per club seems low to me. I hope the CFL can regularly boost that figure.

To address your questions

a) There won't be too many avenue to explore.

b) I would hope not. If they don't pay a good wage to players then they cannot attract top talent. After awhile, some fans will stop watching the game and the owners revenues will drop