It have two questions regarding the rules from last nights game.
After a change of possession on downs, does the game clock start when when the ref blows the play in?
I think it was near the end of the 3rd, Cats stopped Calgary on a 3rd down attempt. There was something like 12 seconds left and the Cat had the wind. The game clock started when ref blew the play in. That play ate up the quarter.
I always thought the game clock did not start until the ball was snapped on a change of possession.
Can you challenge a horse collar penalty like Dickenson did?
I read something about that, but can't remember where. Anyway, what I read said that the horsecollar rule contains an ambiguity. You can't grab the neckhole (clearly defined area), shoulder pads (also clearly defined), or top of the back of the jersey (not clearly defined). Dickenson challenged that the Calgary player had grabbed the nameplate, so it was below the prohibited zone. Apparently the refs disagreed. Whoever was talking about it said that the league needs to clarify the limits of the prohibited area.
Does anyone have any idea what the call was when Castillo missed the field goal?
The Lions were awarded a point, and the Ticats got the ball at the 40. That would mean the refs somehow said the returner was down in the end zone, which he wasn’t.
But, if that was the call, then wouldn’t the Ticats get the ball at the previous line of scrimmage, about the 51 yard line, not the 40?
The whole play made no sense.
The original call on the field seems to have been that the ball hit the upright, although there was no whistle. The game log indicated this, with a dead ball and no point awarded.
Then the Command Centre overruled it, saying that the ball did not hit the upright. But that's when it gets confusing. The amended game log indicated that Woods recovered the ball inside the end zone and was tackled there. So a rouge was awarded, and Ticats started at the 50.
But as we all saw, the ball bounced out to around the two yard line, Woods recovered it with his feet planted outside the end zone, and he was then pushed back into the end zone where he was finally brought down. From my understanding of the rule, there should not have been a rouge, and the Ticats should have started inside the two.
If the single point was scored as the result of an unsuccessful field goal attempt,
the team scored against may elect to scrimmage the ball at any point between
the hash marks on its own 40-yard line or at the previous line of scrimmage.
It took a little digging but this is what I was able to find out.
The original ruling was that the ball hit Woods and bounced out of the end zone where it was recovered. Woods was subsequently tackled with forward progress awarded to the 1 yard line.
The command centre ruled that Woods was pushed back into the end zone. He escaped the tackle thus re-establishing himself in the end zone. He was subsequently tackled short of the goal line resulting in a single point being awarded.