Reffing Question

First off let me say that I'm a touch football referee for my university's intramural league. The majority of the rules are loosely based on the CFL rules.

That said, my scenario involves the rouge play...

In my game today, with the score tied 6-6, team A kicked the ball into the endzone of team B with no time left on the clock... Team B then kicked the ball back out of the endzone... Team A recovered the ball and attempted to kick the ball back into the endzone, but, the kick was shanked (the ball didn't make it into the endzone, and it stayed in bounds)... Just after the player from Team A got off the last kick, he was clobbered... Not knowing the rules completely, I blew my whistle and ended the game. 6-6 tie.

And now my questions...

Is the player from Team A who got clobbered considered a kicker? If so, do contacting the kicker rules apply? Should I have ended the game as I did, or should another play have occured? If so, who's ball?

I'd appreciate anyone's feedback.

Thanks,
Ryan

excellent question.

I am not so sure about open field kicking and contact. BUT , I think that roughing should have been called on team B.Since you can't end the game on a pen. Team A should have been awarded the ball at the point of the infraction and recieved 15 yards.

Just for the future.........no yards also applies......and ALL players BEHIND THE KICKER are considered on side.

This may be a stupid question, but wouldn’t you always call a penalty when someone get’s “clobbered” in a touch football league?
Anyways, on topic, contacting and roughing the kicker calls don’t apply to open field kicks, only kicks from scrimmage (typical punts and field goals). So assuming there wasn’t anything overtly rough about the hit (Which in my mind any hit in touch football is overtly rough), you made the right call.

Right again Als
Contacting does not apply to quick and open field kicks.

However if I understand you, you blew the whistle too early.