Ready for some football?

The (new) USFL kicks off tonight on TV (Apr. 16) with the New Jersey Generals taking on the Birmingham Stallions, including a couple of participants in last year's TiCats' training camp -- QB J'Mar Smith and DB Tyree Robinson. It'll be a bit different:

Can't wait. Football is football.
The chip in ball technology could be a game changer. Hope it works well and is sustainable.

That looks intriguing. Makes me wonder if they can do that for a baseball too..

Not sure if having a million live mics, a steady-cam in the huddle, cameras in the locker rooms, etc is really needed. If I was a player or coach, I certainly wouldn't want cameras in the locker room at half-time. The helmet cams may prove interesting.

It'll be strange to watch eight teams all playing their home games in one stadium; Legion Field in Birmingham. And hard to build a fan-following in Detroit and elsewhere.

1 Like

It will be strange to watch 8 teams pretend to be playing a "home game" other than the advantages dictated by the rules.

2 Likes

Honestly, what advantages are those?
A better locker room?
IIRC, there are very few in-game rules advantages to being the "home" team.
It's not like the CFL Eastern Division with both teams on one sideline; it's not like hockey with the home team's bench being in the defensive zone for 2/3 of a game (or the last line switch before a face-off).

Interesting technology. Would also work well for tennis. Could be the beginning of the end for line judges.

People thought CFL was quirky, will take a little time to get familiar with the changes. Who knows? OT could be fun to watch although I don't think it's better than the CFL overtime. Officials making some of penalty calls may speed up the flow.

Got beer & wings ready to go. Enjoy :football:

Edit not a fan of the 3 point convert and don't think much of the 4th and 12 gimmick.