Question Regarding Kick-ins and Kick-outs

there's no such thing in the CFL as a Touchback.

endzones are live in the CFL.

if you cannot get it out of your endzone, it's a single point ALWAYS.

Touchback as in no point

If Team B knocks it back into the endzone and then recovers it and is tackled there, then it would be a safety.

The issues is team A fumbling it back into the endzone

However if you are adding to my point then you are correct

While it's not called a touchback, no point is awarded if a ball is fumbled into the opponent's endzone and the opponent gets possession but cannot get it out again.

[b]RULE 1 – CONDUCT OF THE GAME[/b] [b]SECTION 9 – OUT OF BOUNDS[/b] [b]Article 6 – Ball Touched In Goal Area[/b] When a player directs the ball other than by kicking, from the Field of Play over the opponent’s Goal Line where it is recovered by an opponent, or is touched by an opponent before going Out of Bounds in the Goal Area, there shall be no score and the ball shall be awarded to the opponent’s team at its 25-yard line. If in attempting to run the ball out of the Goal Area, the opponent’s team commits an infraction the penalty shall be applied from the 25-yard line.

Correction: According to Wikipedia, it was Harry Abofs, not Leon McQuay, who kicked the ball out of bounds. It was just after McQuay's famous fumble in the '71 Grey Cup, which may explain why I associate it with him. Sorry about that.

right, like an interception.

if the offense fumbles it or bats it into the endzone, no. there is no point. but if they kick it into the endzone intentionally and they don't get it out, then it's 1 point.

if they had possession of the ball yes.

On the same vein:

[b]Rule 5 - KICKING SECTION 4 – KICK FROM SCRIMMAGE AND OPEN-FIELD KICK Article 3 – Kick From Scrimmage Going Out-of-Bounds In Flight[/b] On a kick from scrimmage going out of bounds in flight [i]from 20 yard line to 20 yard line[/i], the receiving team will have the option of taking possession at the point the ball went out of bounds in flight, or having a 10 yard penalty applied against the kicking team at the point of last scrimmage, with the down repeated.
Does this mean that had Team B kicked the ball back out from its own endzone and it had gone out in flight inside its own 20, no penalty could be applied for illegal kick out of bounds?

The intent of this rule is to make kicks out of bounds to avoid big returns illegal notwithstanding a skilled coffin corner kick.

Why did they word it such that you could legally kick a ball through the air inside your own 20?

That is correct. The rule was also to allow for this exact situation, to allow the receiving team to legally angle their kick-out out of bounds to prevent another kick-in.

Personally, I don't like the illegal punt rule at all. It's very seldom accepted, as it's usually the result of shanked punt and any re-punt will probably result in worse field position (unless you have Owens returning).

his question is, I believe, with regards to the fact that you could completely shank a punt from your, say, five yard line and have it go out at your own 18.. and it's technically not an illegal punt by the way that rule is worded. of course, the penalty on such a punt would never be accepted anyway.. but it's strange

I have seen this in a game believe it or not.
Ball is punted into endzone
then punted out

RESULT: FIELD GOAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :cowboy:

nice Try Turkey.

but you cannot get a field goal on a play like that. (and I don't mean a drop kick)

check the rule book.

Just curious which rule prevents that from being awarded as a field goal. I was under the impression from reading the rule book that a drop kick for a field goal was allowed at any time from the field of play (i.e. not from inside your own goal area), no matter what had occurred on the play prior to that. Granted, I have not read it cover-to-cover in one sitting, but I have read most of it in pieces, and am always willing to learn from others.

hard to explain.

it's kind of like the same as why a QB cannot throw the ball, have it deflected up in the air.. catch it himself and then try to throw it again, like what Calvillo did in the 2005 Grey Cup.

you can only throw the ball once downfield during a play,.. that's why when you do a pass to a player behind the LOS, it has to be a lateral pass or else he cannot then throw the ball again.

if a player kicks a field goal but misses and then the opposition kicks the ball out of the endzone and then the kicker grabs it again, he cannot then just decide to drop kick it through the goal posts and get 3..

because the ball has crossed the LOS already and now it's along the same rules as a 2nd forward pass attempt on 1 play.

You sure? Can you quote that from the rulebook?

[b]Rule 3 - SCORING Section 2 - DEFINITIONS Article 2 – Field Goal[/b] A field goal is scored by a drop kick or place kick (except on a kickoff) when the ball, after being kicked and without again touching the ground, goes over the cross bar and between the goal posts (or goal posts produced) of the opponent’s goal. The ball shall be dead immediately when it crosses the cross bar.
Unless there's something in Rule 5 - KICKING that goes against this that I haven't read, you can score a field goal from a place or drop kick anywhere in the field of play at any time.

Are players upfield from the dropkick offside ? unless behind the original L.O.S..
In above scenario?

Onside / offside players to a kick is always relative to the spot of the given kick, not the LOS.

SO_ The only way the said drop kick field goal , after the kick out, would be legal is, if all offensive players were behind the drop kicker?
IMHO this play would be legal because offsides no longer come into play. Correct? :?

Onside/offside only comes into play on recovering a kick and no yards. It has nothing to do with whether a drop kick field goal is allowed or not. From what I can tell from the rule book, a drop kick for a field goal is allowed at any time from anywhere in the field of play (until someone can point out a specific rule that contradicts this).