Pass Receptions

Ian Busby Sun Media

click here

This article about the pass reception
rule change wasn't quite clear to me

but here's how I interpret it.

First..

In previous years, if the receiver fell to the ground
without being touched by a defender and the ball came out

it was called a fumble or an incomplete pass.

Now it's a pass completion.

This year if that happens it's a catch even if

he is contacted by a defender during the catch
as long as if he has possession for 'an element of time'[?]

A second or 2?

The refs are trying to swing the pendulum
in favour of receptions.