One fan's confessional

The following is an essay I wrote after reading sambo's "Flagship Franchise" thread in the main forum.

My name is Mongo, and I’m a closet Rider fan.

I’ve been following the CFL now for over a quarter-century, and I completely love the game. I started out being an Argo fan when I attended my first game in 1980 at the old Exhibition Stadium against the original incarnation of the Montréal Alouettes. As a then 9-year old boy, I was intrigued by the larger field, the 3 downs of play, and to be perfectly honest, I liked the Argo cheerleaders – what can I say? I was an early developer.

Over the years, my fandom of the league grew to appreciate the nuances and fan bases of the other teams across the league. I’ve attended CFL games in six cities over the years; including attending a Baltimore Stallions match-up against the Argos at the old Baltimore Memorial Stadium in 1995. I will always remember that contest for a banner I saw being carried by a couple Stallions’ fans that read, “The CFL is alive and well. The NFL can go to hell.? It was a shame that the city and the NFL forced the most successful franchise of the seven that had set up shop in American territory out of town, but am relieved they relocated to become the current incarnation of the Alouettes. But getting back to my original point, I have seen the different fan groups across the league. I’ve sat on the uncomfortable metal planks that lay on top of the concrete slabs of Percival Molson Stadium in Montréal. I’ve heard the whole “Ti-Cats s.uck!? “Argos s.uck!? chants at Exhibition Stadium, SkyDome/Rogers Centre, and Ivor Wynne Stadium. I’ve even taken in a couple match-ups at a now deteriorating Frank Clair Stadium in Ottawa, complete with their own original chant, “North Side s.ucks!? However, the one fan group that has mystified and intrigued me in the same breath, are the fans of the Saskatchewan Roughriders.