New mayor and city council...

...what does it mean for the Lansdowne project?

I’m no expert on Ottawa politics, but hopefully a finalized agreement and shovels in the ground. Following all the links on the CFL forums, I get the impression that even if the Hunt Group wasn’t trying to bring CFL football back, this kinda of revitalization project was sorely needed at Lansdowne Park. I hope they can agree on a final stadium design with a bit more permanent seating than 24k though… 25k general seating should be minimum with the boxes/club seating tacked on.

[url=http://www.ottawacitizen.com/travel/city+waiting+grow/3725261/story.html]http://www.ottawacitizen.com/travel/cit ... story.html[/url]

After reading this editorial it seems nothing much has changed since the Marion Dewar days. I love Ottawa, but it sure is a frustrating place on many levels.

I think it’s pretty great.

Of the nine councillors who voted against the proposal in June (and the previous November), seven lost their seat for a variety of reasons (out-voted, retirement, etc). Several were replaced by people in favour based on interviews done earlier in the year.

Clive Doucet is gone and his replacement is a gentleman who would prefer a new “transparent” process but is willing to work to improve the current one.

Among incumbents in favour, we lost one an replaced him with someone else in favour.

Good day. :thup:

Great news CRF! Thanks for that! :thup:

Merci, monsieur.

Happy to, believe me.

There’s another aspect that was cleared up last night; opponents claimed that if we had less than 75% of council return, it would be considered “lame duck” and would not be able to make major decisions, including voting on Lansdowne issues for a while. Once again, they omitted some details and appear to be wrong.

Ottawa Sun:

The current “lame duck? city council can vote on the site plan for the Lansdowne Park redevelopment.