New CFL on TSN host chosen

http://www.tsn.ca/cfl/story/?id=455505

http://files.bellmediapr.ca/TSN/Assets-Photos/CFLonTSN/_DSC0616.jpg

TSN announces that two-time Canadian Screen Award winner Rod Smith as the new host of the CFL ON TSN panel. Smith, one the country's most-trusted broadcasters, will be joined by fan-favourite analysts Matt Dunigan, Chris Schultz, Jock Climie, Milt Stegall, and Paul LaPolice.

"Rod is a football guy through-and-through. He brings both a wealth of CFL knowledge and a compelling new presence to the panel," said Mark Milliere, Senior Vice-President of Production, TSN. "Rod is the ideal host of this all-star CFL ON TSN cast."

"I've loved the CFL since I was a kid. Watching the CFL growing up is why I started playing football and got into this business," said Smith. "Back when I hosted the panel in '97, we had a blast on set. Jumping back in as host almost 20 years later, the production is at an entirely different level. The panel is so polished and professional, and I'm really humbled to be a part of what the guys have created."

"Rod is like a seasoned all-pro quarterback that stands in front of the huddle and commands respect," said Matt Dunigan. "He had instantaneous chemistry with the panel and will be an exceptional host. It's a great day for CFL fans."

A former offensive lineman for the Queen's University Golden Gaels, Smith anchored TSN's studio coverage of CFL in 1997 and has also served as a play-by-play commentator for CFL ON TSN.

Smith, who joined TSN in 1987, will resume hosting the 6pm et edition of SportsCentre after the CFL season wraps up.