Maurice "Mo" Leggett Cut

Had to happen. The guy couldn’t stay healthy. He’ll be 33/34 next year and even when he appeared re-habbed his once near-sprinter’s speed appeared a few steps slower.

That and getting run up for injury upon injury resulted in the Bombers parting way with their former all-star.

My guess is he’ll try to secure a final contract with a needy CFL team (or even the new guaranteed to fail league down south) before calling it a day. Kavis Reed is probably on the blower right now!

Bombers shouldn’t be so quick to blow this guy outta town. As a player, yes. But he could be a solid addition as a defensive assistant.

Same might be said of veteran LB Ian Wild.

I’ve been touting Wild as potential replacement for Richie Hall for a couple years - he’s got a solid football intellect but his size (small to medium) and propensity to injure has doomed him. He was a substantial downgrade from Juvan Santos-Knox in last weekend’s western final.

Mo Leggett of the 2016-2017 vintage was the best defensive back in a Bomber uniform over the past decade (including former defensive POY Jevon Johnson). Maybe all the way back to the best days of Juran Bolden.

I thought he should’ve been the defensive player of the year in 2016, not that the guy that did win was a slouch, but during the course of that season, I believe Mo made the greater, more spectacular on-field impact.
Had he not suffered that freak, non-contact injury recoving an onside kick at the end of 2017, the player he was prior to that injury very well might’ve been the difference in the 2018 teams’ final resting place. That injury seemed to end the Bomber D’s 2-year run as a take-away machine. The picks stopped coming in bunches after that.

Yeah, I hope the team offers him a job too. Top-notch character guy.