Maintaining a strong league

I have been enjoying CFL football since 1965. In 1968; it was a big deal for us kids to be members of the Knothole gang in Edmonton. Before that, we would ride our bikes to "CLARK STADIUM" and then look for a hole underneath the fence. I would still do that except that I am in Calgary, and I'm too big to fit under any fence hole....lol :joy:.
I have had the pleasure of watching a lot of great and proud football players though the years, where the players became proud fixtures in our communities. Many of them were here for years and thoughout most, if not all, of their football career's and beyond.
Now, it's a different story. Many are here for a short time but not a long time. They move on through " free agency", through " trades" or from being accepted to the NFL or AFL where there are huge dollars to be had. Many make their homes elsewhere and the city that they are playing in serves basically as a pitstop in their lives, so; as a result, the fan doesn't ever acquire that strong bond or relationship that would normally forever exist.
To keep the league tighter and closer, I for one, and perhaps am the only one, would like to see all the games played in the dry monthes so that every fan, old, young, child or senior, has an equal opportunity to go out and enjoy the game while it's played on grass and there is plenty of daylight. To do this, the season would have to start in April and the Cup final played no later than the early to middle of October. To accomodate this, we may have to go to a largely Canadian talent base, just like the old days. To do this, we may have to lower the costs of salaries and season tickets...like the old days! To do this, we may have to come to the understanding the importance of developing stronger football programs for juniors in Canada and recognise once more that we can still have a strong league without any assistance from south of the border.