Just What do The Ti Cats Mean? An Appeal For Calm

Well, some of the forums are getting a little heated so I thought I'd try a new topic.

I'm a retired soldier, 22 years in the Canadian Regular Force. Hamilton born and bred, I've cheered for the Cats all over the world. From the Golan Heights in an Austrian Army Camp to Nanisivik on Baffin Island thanks to CBC North. I've watched the Cats live by satellite in Germany 20 years ago and watched them by tape delay in Israel when tape delay meant that the tape came on a Herc a week after the game was played. I remember a time in Germany when the Stars and Stripes, American Forces daily newspaper, printed a Labour Day score wrong and credited the Argos with a win. The correction the next edition and the joyful twenty deutsch mark repossession from the suddenly defeated Argo fan was great. I remember coming to Civic Stadium as young as 5 to see the Cats and to this day part of Thanksgiving is the memory of lying on the floor in front of the TV while the aroma of turkey and pumpkin pie wafted though the house. Perc Allen and the Cats on CHML on brilliant fall days while in the backyard as a kid make me smile.
I'm 53 years old and haveseen a lot of good Tiger Cat teams and a lot of bad ones but you know what, I don't remember the bad ones for long, and I don't hate them. They're all the Cats and they're all from home. I came back home 10 years ago and wondered what Hamilton would be like after 20 odd years. It's great and so are the Cats.

What do they mean to you?

I loved your post well said Ti-cat fan.

when tape delay meant that the tape came on a Herc a week after the game was played.
Kinda puts a new twist on sports betting eh?....lol :lol:

Awesome post....time for some light stuff