Is This Much Player Movement Good for the League?

Dave Naylor Asks...

1 Like

Not sure if it is hurting much. Be nice if fav players would stay on ones fav team for their whole career but one gets used to it not being this way.

I remember when I was a pre teen and Coach Eagle Keys went from Riders to Lions. I was pissed. I felt he was a dirty traitor. I just didnt understand

2 Likes

Of course it isn't good.

But like the Architect of the Matrix said.

"There are different levels of survival we are willing to accept"

efficient-efficiency

3 Likes

Didn't he also say, "One year contracts are killing the Matrix Neo. Sign for two and we'll throw in a free pen." (they may have cut that scene)

4 Likes

Yes. I too was pissed. But then in later years I realized it was the One Year Contracts that were at fault. I'd soiled a perfectly good diaper for nothing.

4 Likes

I think it hurts the league to some degree as it can weaken fan attachment to particular players on the roster.

The best suggestion I've heard to address the issue is to give teams the right to match offers from other CFL teams.

In that case, veteran players would still be signing one-year contracts (allowing them an out for NFL shots), but make them RFAs in the CFL after that one year and maybe UFAs after two or three years.

That's something I think players might agree to, given that the CFLPA recognizes that so much turnover is an issue.

5 Likes

That sounds reasonable. We still have to hammer out that CFLPA agreement (hopefully this year). Maybe contracts get longer again after that happens.

3 Likes

IMO the CFL's problem is the optics of being a 9-team league. A player bouncing around multiple clubs in the NFL or NBA isn't really an issue when you have 30+ teams, but in the CFL it starts to look ridiculous when a player can literally cover half the league in their career, and then you kick it up a notch to "Kevin Glenn level".