Rule 6, Section 4, Article 7 – Intentional Grounding
[url=http://www.cfl.ca/uploads/assets/CFL/PDF_Docs/CFLRules_2010_ENG.pdf]http://www.cfl.ca/uploads/assets/CFL/PD ... 10_ENG.pdf[/url]
If a Team A passer deliberately, and in the official’s opinion for the purpose of avoiding
loss of yardage, throws the ball behind the line of scrimmage to the ground or Out
of Bounds or to an area in which there is not an eligible Team A receiver, the team
shall be penalized.
PENALTY: LD at point from which pass was thrown. If the pass was thrown from the
Goal Area, a safety touch score shall be awarded to Team B, subject to the right of
Team B to decline the score and accept the play as it terminated.
NOTE: Team A shall not be penalized if the passer throws the ball across the line of
scrimmage to an open area or Out of Bounds.
So if the ball crosses the line of scrimmage, there is no infraction. If it doesn't, it is at the discretion of the official whether there was a receiver anywhere near the throw.