Goal Line Offense

Why in the CFL when we have a 65 yard wide field with no less than 21 yards of space to operate beyond the line of scrimmage do we scrunch 24 guys into a little 5 x 2 yard space to squeeze the ball across the goal line?

If the QB sneak is suspect... SPREAD THE DEFENCE OUT and increase your options in securing 3 feet of territory for the score...

Hitch screen, QB draw, pump and draw, straight out dive, hit a receiver in the flats, QB option...

Statistically speaking the average offensive play in the CFL is what? 6 or 7 yards? I'm no expert but the functional reason for executing an obvious QB sneak or obvious short yardage run over and over when you have 3 downs from the 1 aren't apparent to me.

With the space available... why don't teams line up the standard shotgun, 5 wide, 1 back set, spread the defence as much as possible and pick up an easy 3 feet? At least change it up... we ran a sneak and an obvious straight up tailback dive on 1st and 2nd down then settled for a FG..

Made the right call. Cobb fumbles. He doesnt fumble its a touchdown. Simple. Symbolic of the whole night. Individual breakdowns.

First down on the one....hands up those who expected Tafralis to come in and sneak the ball?
Hands up Alouettes players and coaches who suspected the same.....

I agree....keep Glenn in...spread the defense ....fewer bodies in the bunch....if you spread, the defense spreads....they have to...

If you can't block,ya' can't make a yard....

welcome to 2008...

I'm just waiting for some of Marwan's wonderful long snaps to rear their ugly head...

That was first down. Second down Cobb got the blocking , play works but he fumbles. Took a TD off the board. Only one person's fault there and he's not wearing a headset.

Fair.
But…a little imagination, and maybe first down would have been a td…