First year coaches winning the Grey Cup

I got a question, since this is Kent Austin's first year as being a head coach I'm hoping that someone in this forum can tell me how many rookie head coaches won the Grey Cup.

Lets count backwards...

Sask-Austin
Edm-Machipmunk

thats all I got.

Kel

....what will be kinda interesting is to see how Austin fares in his second year as compared to Dancin' Danny....beware the sophomore jinx.... meanwhile i think that's as far away as possible in Kents mind....he's still celebrating this Cup win.. :wink:

Adam Rita '91

I think Austin is a little better at coaching than Danny...

Chipmunk didn't count, IIRC, he took over part way into the season in 05, unlike Austin who really did it all.

Danny Maciocia Forever!!!

how many major contributers to the teams success did austin add to the team that barrett built? This team was already a good one when he stepped in. It was just a matter of time.

Disagree......wasn't Maciocia promoted in the offseason? I seem to recall that when Higgins was shown the door at the end of the previous season, Edmonton considered both Maciocia and Marshall, and settled on Maciocia, so he coached his entire first season.

I do stand to be corrected, if someone cares to....