FALLOUT DAMAGES: WINNIPEG vs. MONTREAL -- 6X, WHAT A JOKE?

Exactly what we do not need, including the pre season the BB will play the Als count them six times.
Tell me BOG how this will benefit the fans and will fuel the fire for those who call our league bush as seeing the same team over and over.

We were already playing the 'Gades 5 times in the season (3 regular & 2 pre-season) since they "began" in the league....but your right..6 times is a lot vs. Winnipeg !

Absolute stupid to have the BB and the Al's paly six times.

I guess the Als will have at least 6 wins this season, sorry Bomber fans , but it suck to be you!

nothing surprises me, I think 4 of our first 6 games last season were against Edm (including 2 preseason).............I think bomber and Als fans look forward to stirring it up again like the old days, at least they should have some competition from Tor and Ham this time.........:slight_smile:

..agree PIGSEYE...Bombers and Als.....always have a good rivalry....6 times a little much....but what the heh....we had a barnburner in WPG. ....last year....and I believe we were ahead on the scoreboard when that one ended.....We have to look at things this way........whether we are east or west...... we had to be improved in a lot of areas....we have done that in the off season..so I believe we will definitley be competitive ....dosen't matter where we are... :wink:

It is bad enough with the nine team league how some teams including the Xibition games, see each other 4 times.
I have not had a chance to go down the rest of the schedule, there are plenty of four games against the same teams. How the heck can the Battle of Alberta have meaning when the Stamps and Esks play that many times.
Has anyone checked to see if there is a five spot anywhere?
After yesterdays black Sunday, I promised myself how I would resist talking more teams now that we lost one, but surely to goodness this multi games scenario is "bush". The alternative.................10-12 teams.......will never happen with the BOG better known as the BOC (forever renamed the very appropriate Board Of Clowns).
The three stooges by comparison are scholars.
My CFL includes the Gades.

Even though it seems like a lot (and it is), i have to ask if it is at least spread out a little over the season. I have not looked at the east schedule, but seems to me that would help ease the repetition. And hey, we have to play the Stamps 4 times now so don't complain so much. Those will be damn tough games!

Cheers

Just read your post Argotom. You make good points, but if nothing else this should strengthen the remaining 8 teams. There was already a lot of parity last year and it would be fun to see a season long race similar to the west division in the NHL right now. Just as long as the Esks make the playoffs of course, lol.

Cheers

..........hey super, we open the season back-to-back, tell me that won't be tough for both clubs!.......

Well, here it is the revised schedule. Upon closer inspection it is even worse with the Als and Winnipeg playing each other three times in a row, the first two Xibition games and the first game of the year.
The BOC could not organize a one car parade.

2006 CFL Schedule (revised as of April 9, 2006)
Note: Dates and Times Subject to Change
WEEK GAME DATE TEAMS LOCAL EASTERN TV
PRE-SEASON
A 1 Friday, June 02 HAMILTON at TORONTO 7:00 PM 7:00 PM
A 2 Friday, June 02 CALGARY at B.C. 7:30 PM 10:30 PM
A 3 Friday, June 02 MONTREAL at WINNIPEG 7:00 PM 8:00 PM
A 4 Saturday, June 03 EDMONTON at SASKATCHEWAN 2:00 PM 4:00 PM
B 5 Thursday, June 08 WINNIPEG at MONTREAL 7:00 PM 7:00 PM
B 6 Thursday, June 08 B.C. at CALGARY 7:00 PM 9:00 PM
B 7 Friday, June 09 TORONTO at HAMILTON 7:00 PM 7:00 PM
B 8 Friday, June 09 SASKATCHEWAN at EDMONTON 7:00 PM 9:00 PM
REGULAR SEASON
1 9 Friday, June 16 WINNIPEG at MONTREAL 7:30 PM 7:30 PM TSN/RDS
1 10 Friday, June 16 SASKATCHEWAN at B.C. 7:30 PM 10:30 PM TSN
1 11 Saturday, June 17 HAMILTON at TORONTO 3:00 PM 3:00 PM CBC
1 12 Saturday, June 17 EDMONTON at CALGARY 6:00 PM 8:00 PM TSN
2 13 Friday, June 23 TORONTO at WINNIPEG 7:00 PM 8:00 PM TSN
2 14 Saturday, June 24 MONTREAL at HAMILTON 7:00 PM 7:00 PM CBC/RDS
2 15 Saturday, June 24 CALGARY at EDMONTON 8:00 PM 10:00 PM TSN
2 16 Sunday, June 25 B.C. at SASKATCHEWAN 5:00 PM 7:00 PM TSN
3 17 Thursday, June 29 HAMILTON at CALGARY 7:00 PM 9:00 PM TSN
3 18 Friday, June 30 EDMONTON at WINNIPEG 6:30 PM 7:30 PM TSN
3 19 Saturday, July 01 TORONTO at B.C. 7:30 PM 10:30 PM CBC
4 20 Thursday, July 06 HAMILTON at MONTREAL 7:30 PM 7:30 PM TSN/RDS
4 21 Friday, July 07 B.C. at EDMONTON 7:00 PM 9:00 PM TSN
4 22 Saturday, July 08 WINNIPEG at TORONTO 4:00 PM 4:00 PM TSN
4 23 Saturday, July 08 CALGARY at SASKATCHEWAN 5:00 PM 7:00 PM CBC
5 24 Friday, July 14 CALGARY at HAMILTON 7:30 PM 7:30 PM TSN
5 25 Friday, July 14 SASKATCHEWAN at B.C. 7:30 PM 10:30 PM TSN
5 26 Saturday, July 15 MONTREAL at WINNIPEG 6:00 PM 7:00 PM CBC/RDS
6 27 Thursday, July 20 HAMILTON at MONTREAL 7:00 PM 7:00 PM TSN/RDS
6 28 Thursday, July 20 WINNIPEG at EDMONTON 8:00 PM 10:00 PM TSN
6 29 Friday, July 21 B.C. at CALGARY 7:00 PM 9:00 PM TSN
6 30 Saturday, July 22 TORONTO at SASKATCHEWAN 5:00 PM 7:00 PM CBC
7 31 Friday, July 28 WINNIPEG at HAMILTON 7:00 PM 7:00 PM TSN
7 32 Friday, July 28 MONTREAL @ EDMONTON 8:00 PM 10:00 PM TSN/RDS
7 33 Saturday, July 29 B.C. at TORONTO 7:00 PM 7:00 PM CBC
7 34 Saturday, July 29 CALGARY at SASKATCHEWAN 8:00 PM 10:00 PM TSN
8 35 Thursday, August 03 TORONTO at MONTREAL 7:30 PM 7:30 PM TSN/RDS
8 36 Friday, August 04 HAMILTON at WINNIPEG 6:30 PM 7:30 PM TSN
8 37 Friday, August 04 EDMONTON at B.C. 7:30 PM 10:30 PM TSN
8 38 Saturday, August 05 SASKATCHEWAN at CALGARY 5:00 PM 7:00 PM CBC
9 39 Thursday, August 10 B.C. at WINNIPEG 7:00 PM 8:00 PM TSN
9 40 Friday, August 11 SASKATCHEWAN at EDMONTON 7:30 PM 9:30 PM TSN
9 41 Saturday, August 12 TORONTO at HAMILTON 7:00 PM 7:00 PM TSN
9 42 Saturday, August 12 MONTREAL at CALGARY 8:00 PM 10:00 PM CBC/RDS
10 43 Friday, August 18 EDMONTON at B.C. 7:30 PM 10:30 PM TSN
10 44 Saturday, August 19 MONTREAL at TORONTO 7:00 PM 7:00 PM TSN/RDS
10 45 Saturday, August 19 HAMILTON at SASKATCHEWAN 8:00 PM 10:00 PM CBC
11 46 Thursday, August 24 CALGARY at MONTREAL 7:30 PM 7:30 PM TSN/RDS
11 47 Friday, August 25 TORONTO at WINNIPEG 7:00 PM 8:00 PM TSN
11 48 Saturday, August 26 SASKATCHEWAN at HAMILTON 4:00 PM 4:00 PM CBC
12 49 Friday, September 01 B.C. at MONTREAL 7:30 PM 7:30 PM TSN/RDS
12 50 Sunday, September 03 WINNIPEG at SASKATCHEWAN 5:30 PM 7:30 PM TSN
12 51 Monday, September 04 EDMONTON at CALGARY 1:00 PM 3:00 PM CBC
12 52 Monday, September 04 TORONTO at HAMILTON 6:00 PM 6:00 PM CBC
13 53 Friday, September 08 CALGARY at EDMONTON 7:30 PM 9:30 PM TSN
13 54 Saturday, September HAMILTON at TORONTO 3:00 PM 3:00 PM CBC
13 55 Sunday, September 10 SASKATCHEWAN at WINNIPEG 1:00 PM 2:00 PM CBC
14 56 Friday, September 15 WINNIPEG at CALGARY 7:00 PM 9:00 PM TSN
14 57 Saturday, September 16 EDMONTON at HAMILTON 7:00 PM 7:00 PM TSN
14 58 Saturday, September 16 MONTREAL at B.C. 7:00 PM 10:00 PM CBC/RDS
15 59 Friday, September 22 HAMILTON at EDMONTON 7:00 PM 9:00 PM TSN
15 60 Saturday, September 23 TORONTO at CALGARY 5:00 PM 7:00 PM CBC
15 61 Sunday, September 24 WINNIPEG at MONTREAL 1:00 PM 1:00 PM TSN/RDS
15 62 Sunday, September 24 B.C. at SASKATCHEWAN 2:00 PM 4:00 PM TSN
16 63 Friday, September 29 MONTREAL at WINNIPEG 7:00 PM 8:00 PM TSN/RDS
16 64 Saturday, September 30 B.C. at HAMILTON 4:00 PM 4:00 PM TSN
16 65 Saturday, September 30 CALGARY at TORONTO 7:00 PM 7:00 PM CBC
16 66 Saturday, September 30 EDMONTON at SASKATCHEWAN 8:00 PM 10:00 PM TSN
17 67 Friday, October 06 CALGARY at B.C. 7:00 PM 10:00 PM TSN
17 68 Monday, October 09 SASKATCHEWAN at MONTREAL 1:00 PM 1:00 PM CBC/RDS
17 69 Monday, October 09 EDMONTON at TORONTO 4:00 PM 4:00 PM CBC
18 70 Friday, October 13 MONTREAL at SASKATCHEWAN 7:00 PM 9:00 PM TSN/RDS
18 71 Saturday, October 14 TORONTO at EDMONTON 1:00 PM 3:00 PM CBC
18 72 Sunday, October 15 WINNIPEG at HAMILTON 1:00 PM 1:00 PM TSN
18 73 Sunday, October 15 B.C. at CALGARY 2:00 PM 4:00 PM TSN
19 74 Friday, October 20 SASKATCHEWAN at TORONTO 7:30 PM 7:30 PM TSN
19 75 Saturday, October 21 EDMONTON at MONTREAL 3:00 PM 3:00 PM CBC/RDS
19 76 Saturday, October 21 CALGARY at WINNIPEG 6:00 PM 7:00 PM TSN
19 77 Saturday, October 21 HAMILTON at B.C. 7:00 PM 10:00 PM TSN
20 78 Friday, October 27 SASKATCHEWAN at EDMONTON 7:00 PM 9:00 PM TSN
20 79 Saturday, October 28 MONTREAL at TORONTO 3:00 PM 3:00 PM CBC/RDS
20 80 Saturday, October 28 WINNIPEG at B.C. 7:00 PM 10:00 PM TSN

Hahahahaha this is the leauge you are left with! Enjoy! Maybe they can get it up to 10 games played between them per season.

Funny, the NHL did exactly what the CFL is forced to do, but the NHL didn't have to do it, more divisional games and some teams will not have a game in their arena agains't certain teams all year.

Oh, BTW, attendance is up at NHL games this year. Go figure, eh? The more I see the Argos here in Hamilton, the better!

Yeah, I thought the schedule maker could have been more creative and spread out the back to backs more often.

I can agree Sportsmen in one sense but then, when you look at the hockey playoffs in a long series, nothing gets better man, the games get so heated, it’s great. That’s what I like about back to backs, you really start hating the other team. I’m sorta looking forward to this and how it pans out, if it’s anything like hockey, we are in for one nice treat.

too bad we didn't get Karikari, but now we have a chace to teach that ****** a lesson he will not soon forget.

Given that many home stadium dates were already booked and the short turnaround time, I'm not surprised by how the schedule panned out. It's not ideal, but it will have to do.

Like it or not, the Bombers and Als are divisional rivals once again. Since the Eastern teams haven't played different preseason opponents for a really long time (i.e. Toronto always plays Hamilton, Montreal was always playing Ottawa) the least disruptive way to go was to slot the Bombers in that preseason spot.

No, the schedule is not perfect. The Argos play only 1 divisional game in the last 8 weeks of the season. This season is going to be played under exceptional circumstances, so the ideal schedule was probably not possible.

they had to do what they had to do IMO.

So, Big Dave, is this sch better or wrost than 1987?

.........by doing what?........not throwing to his corner of the field?........

(you don't wanna know)