I say this explanation is a dumb rule not because I'm a Tiger-Cat fan, but because a whistle signals the end of play. Based on the play, it should have been WPG's ball, and would have been WPG's ball if an official had not blown his whistle prior to WPG recovering the fumble. But, once the whistle is blown, even in error by an official, that's gotta be the end of the play and that should be unreversible. What they're saying here is ...... the whistle blew, signalling the end of play, and a player who ignored the whistle should have been rewarded with a fumble recovery, while players (HAM) who respected the sigalling of the end of play are penalized (lose possession) for not continuing to try and recover the loose ball. DUMB.
I dislike this rule too. They try to get around this with their talk of "directly and immediately", but I still don't like it. It still effectively rewards a team for ignoring the whistle. This also came up in 2006 or 2007 on a Corey Holmes fumble where the whistle was blown, but the ball was still awarded to the team that recovered it AFTER the whistle.