Does the CFL use territorial picks and if so how do they determine territory

They brought back limited territorial picks a few years ago, after not having them for several decades.

Now, only the bottom two teams get territorial picks--just one each between the 2nd and 3rd rounds of the draft.

I'm not sure the exact formula for determining territory though.

This might be the last year for territorial picks in the actual draft. I think next year they'll be replacing it with whoever plays the most Canadians due to the new ratio rules.

Every team used to be able to protect a certain number of Junior players in their territory from the draft but I don't know if they still do that or not.


Territory is laid out in the CFL constitution as far as I know.

Thanks, T.

This is from that document:

The territorial limits assigned to the members in Canada by the League as of September 9th, 2002 are as follows:

(a) Montreal – The Province of Quebec with the exception of that portion situated within one and twenty kilometres (120 KM) of the Peace Tower in Ottawa;

(b) Toronto – The City of Toronto; the Regional Municipalities of Peel, Waterloo and York; the Towns of Oakville and Halton Hills in the Regional Municipality of Halton; the City of Oshawa and the Towns of Ajax, Pickering and Whitby in the Regional Municipality of Durham; the Counties of Bruce, Dufferin, Grey, Huron, Lambton, Perth, Simcoe and Wellington, all in the Province of Ontario;

(c) Hamilton – The Cities of Hamilton and Greater Sudbury; the Districts of Algoma, Cochrane, Nipissing, Sudbury, and Timiskaming; the Regional Municipalities of Haldiman-Norfolk and Niagara; the City of Burlington and the Town of Milton in the Regional Municipality of Halton; the Counties of Brant, Elgin, Essex, Kent, Middlesex and Oxford, all in the Province of Ontario;

(d) Winnipeg – The Province of Manitoba;

(e) Saskatchewan – The Province of Saskatchewan;

(f) Calgary – The southern portion of the Province of Alberta, being that area south of the 52nd parallel latitude;

(g) Edmonton – The northern portion of the Province of Alberta, being that area north of the 52nd parallel latitude;

(h) B.C. - The Province of British Columbia;

(i) The North West Territories and the territories of Yukon and Nunavut; the Districts of Kenora, Rainy River and Thunder Bay in the Province of Ontario are open to all members of the Western Division;

(j) Ottawa – That portion of the Province of Quebec situated within 120 kilometres of the Peace Tower; the Cities of Kingston, Belleville, Quinte West, Brockville, Pembroke and Ottawa; the Towns of Smith Falls, Gananoque and Prescott; the United Counties of Prescott and Russell; the Counties of Frontenac, Hastings, Lanark, Leeds and Grenville, Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry, Lennox and Addington, Northumberland, Prince Edward, and Renfrew, all in the Province of Ontario; and

(k) Until such time as membership is granted to a team in any of the following provinces, the Provinces of New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island are open to all members of the Eastern Division.

And here's an article about the new rules:


thanks for all information.

1 Like