I would prefer to have the home team in their whites and the visitors in their full colours. IMO more interesting plus the Cats wouldn’t suffer at home in extreme heat in their black/all black. I think at one time (years ago?) that was the set up, home team in their whites… but I could be wrong
(I don’t really like the grey Hammer uniforms either, the previous greys were OK though IMO)
I agree with your preference and you’re right, longtimetcfan.
There was a time, at least a few seasons in the 60’s, when the home teams wore white jerseys.
The two Allouette defenders were in full flight. Not sure they could have held up unless all defenders were standing on the BC 20 for the last 3 seconds.
Just watching the Ottawa-Edmonton game. Dru Brown was over the line of scrimmage by at least 3 yards and tossed (shot put) the ball toward a receiver but incomplete. Penalized for a pass being over the line of scrimmage.
Question… Why is it not considered a fumble? Just because it was aimed at a receiver, the ball was loose. No contact on Brown but there have been times where a ballcarrier simply drops a ball (see A Calvillo as a TiCat QB) and it’s considered a fumble. What’s the difference?
Is it the fact he’s a QB that makes it an incomplete pass? A similar move behind the line of scrimmage would be considered incomplete but why once over the line of scrimmage? If a back or receiver performed a similar forward pass action and the ball fell loose would it be considered an illegal forward lateral and a loose ball or an incomplete pass?
It doesn’t matter who is throwing the forward pass. If it is thrown over the line of scrimmage it is an illegal forward pass. All they have to decide is if it was a pass or a fumble.
No, it’s the actual action that gets penalized. Bottom line is that you can’t throw a forward pass over the line of scrimmage no matter who the player is.
But that’s what Brown did. He was well over the line of scrimmage and pushed the ball towards a receiver that fell incomplete. I question why isn’t that considered a fumble? I would think it would be considered a fumble if any other player did that.
Because his arm was moving forward and yes, it was intended to be a forward pass. It’s a fair question of what constitutes a lateral vs a forward pass, so the ref does have some interpretation to do.
Yes and no different than if he had launched the ball 50 yards down field and it went incomplete, he had crossed the line of scrimmage and an illegal pass.
Always thought that the receiver had to run out of bounds to stop the clock or be tackled on the field of play. Trying to find the specific rule that would allow a receiver to take a knee and stop the clock without contact. Thanks
If a player clearly “gives himself up” the whistle is blown. Like when a QB kneels in Victory formation, he doesn’t have to be touched for the whistle to blow. It’s the knee that’s the key!