Blocking on Punt Returns

When I was a college student in Buffalo, New York in the late 1960's and early 1970's, I saw my first CFL games at that time. I found the game to be entertaining and fun to watch, but I've grown up on the NFL, so that to me is what I much prefer.
I remember at that time, and probably for several years after that time, there was no blocking allowed on punt returns, so the returner gained about five yards on the punt return and got tackled by about eight guys from the opposing team. This made CFL punt returns about as exciting a watching paint dry. When was the rule changed to allow blocking for the punt returner, and why did they not allow blocking for the punt returner in the first place?
All the CFL fans find the fair catch to be just awful on punts in the NFL, but it's just part of the game and no big deal, nothing to get your shorts in a fluster about. I could counter about awarding a single point for failure, specifically on a missed field goal that isn't returned out of the end zone. Even the NFL doesn't do that. It may not change the outcome of a CFL game, but ther's no doubt it is rewarding the kicking team for failure. The way I look at it, in the CFL it's three points for a successful field goal and one point for a missed field goal (that's not run back out of the end zone).

see bolded text. It’s about getting players to make returns whenever possible

I can't exactly remember when they changed the rule to allow blocking (above the waist only) but it was a positive step for the CFL. It makes the special teams more exciting...but now they need to add a rule penalizing teams that delibertly have their punters kick the ball out of bounds to prevent a runback.
I agree about the single point after a field goal but I would still like to see the ball still in play after a missed field goal as those returns can be exciting. (for the fans)