Black's reply

[url=http://www.cfl.ca/index.php?module=newser&func=display&nid=18424&writer=7]http://www.cfl.ca/index.php?module=news ... 4&writer=7[/url]
In Thursday night’s Montreal @ Toronto game, there was an officiating error when on a Toronto pass play, the Side Judge called Pass Interference against Montreal, threw his flag and assumed the pass had gone incomplete. The assumption was incorrect. Montreal actually intercepted the pass. The whistle should not have been blown until the play was completely over. As it happens, the penalty would supersede the balance of the play anyway.
He seems to have left out the fact that there was no pass interference and the flag was thrown to cover their butts He also says its the same ref that threw the flag blew the whistle......

Well, that's more than I expected.

I figured since the Als won they would just move on and say nothing.

It is kind of patronising, since everyone in the CFL world knows it was an early whistle on an incomplete pass.

Except his excuse is a crock.....The flag was thrown after.
Film at 11! Well 10-15 minutes again!

Here is another angle.

http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c335/ro1313/th_12010ad3.jpg

Here you can clearly see the flag still in the side-judge's pocket so Black's excuse that he threw the flag and assumed the pass was incomplete is a crock

Black's reply basically does the same thing as my underwear: both cover one's arse...

It would have been nice, for a change, for the side judge to fall on his sword and say mea culpa.

Too much to hope for I guess, a little integrity.

While pretty much exactly the type of response I expected from Mr. Black, it is completely and thoroughly unsatisfactory.

I've just emailed Mr Black and here's what I sent:

Your official comment is as follows:

"In Thursday night’s Montreal @ Toronto game, there was an officiating error when on a Toronto pass play, the Side Judge called Pass Interference against Montreal, threw his flag and assumed the pass had gone incomplete. The assumption was incorrect. Montreal actually intercepted the pass. The whistle should not have been blown until the play was completely over. As it happens, the penalty would supersede the balance of the play anyway."

Please look at the second picture posted in the fan forum by ro1313 at

[url=http://www.cfl.ca/index.php?name=PNphpBB2&file=viewtopic&t=18349&highlight=]http://www.cfl.ca/index.php?name=PNphpB ... highlight=[/url]

Boulay has the ball; the side judge is in the motion of signalling no catch....but his FLAG IS IN HIS POCKET.

That makes it pretty clear that he had NOT called pass interference, and instead threw the flag LATER.

Pictures do not lie.

Have some integrity and re-issue an explanation. Clearly, based on the photographic evidence, the side judge did NOT call pass interference, throw his flag, and assume the pass was incomplete. The evidence clearly shows that he called the pass incomplete, THEN saw Boulay with the ball, and THEN threw the flag.

Jack

If I get a reply, I'll let you all know. Just don't hold your breath.

Nice!
I cant wait for his answer.
If he answers!

Excellent work Ro for posting the image. Great and well written email Madjack! I for one would have a lot more respect for Black and the CFL if they would admit the mistake 100%, apologise and say they will work on making sure they improve.

Black is acting like a politician, newsflash: people put up with politicians because they have to, not because they like them!

There is a "saying" in french: "une faute avoué, est une faute à moitié pardonnée". Translation: "if you admit to a mistake, you are already half forgiven, and people will be more open to forget the mistake".

Just act like men and admit there was a major screw up!

....a lot of fans say ....hey ...mistakes happen...refs are not flawless....and welllll...we know all that...and most can cut a guy a little slack and leave room for error....BUT...when its so blatant...and then you try to cover the bloody thing up....what a hole that ref dug for himself....and then his boss comes on here and gives a lame excuse to carry on the debacle.....whoah....i think CFL management better have a good look at this one....and come back with an explaination that's a little more credible.... :roll: :roll:

Wow. We're just starting Week 5 and already Black has admitted a mistake was made twice. Time to clean house in the officiating department. These guys clearly have no idea what the hell they're doing!

I'm not gonna call for people's heads for crying out loud, but that sure does look like a very careless call. He's not even LOOKING at the ball. These guys are under a lot of pressure to not make mistakes, and that may be contributing to some of them. However, what happens to the BALL should be the number one thing. Anything else is secondary. It's far better that there is no call on pass interference than a blown, game-changing, late game call by a ref who's not watching the ball.

another view here

[url=http://www.cfl.ca/index.php?name=PNphpBB2&file=viewtopic&t=18327&start=0&sid=86623528effe92b497f9f7eed32d961f]http://www.cfl.ca/index.php?name=PNphpB ... eed32d961f[/url]

Any answer from Mr Black

Yes I have received a reply. I am awaiting his permission to post it here.

You could ask him to post it in his column here, it would be great for everyone to read his reply.

I got an automated reply saying he's out of the office until 2 August.

Stay tuned, gang.

Now do you really think I will be able to sleep tonight!

PM me man PM me!

I wonder if it will take him that long to hand out rule books to all his officials…