Black wrap on Porter's throwing hand

During last week's game I noticed Porter was wearing some kind of black bandage or brace on his throwing hand, wrapped around his palm and thumb. Probably why he kept dropping the water bottle in that one clip TSN showed. Wore it again during the Winnipeg game.

Has he always worn that, and I've just never noticed before? Or is this something new?
Minor injury? Extra protection?
I can't imagine this doing anything but hurting his throwing ability. Unless the exposed part is a bit tacky to help with grip.

Any of you people who go to the practices know what's up with that?

Let’s ask Ron Trentini… LMAO

I’m not a doctor and I don’t think speculating is productive. Whatever allows him to compete with a high completion percentage is fine by me.

Oski Wee Wee,

He has already been pegged as the starter for Thurs. so he isn't hurt. You can't pass much with an injured passing hand. I'm sure its just extra protection. It's a good place to have a bit of padding also as we have all seen QB's smack the back of their hand off a pass rushers helmet as they throw a pass. Happened to Printers while in Hamilton.

Well it's obviously nothing major enough to keep him from playing.
But when he was pulled I was wondering if it was because it was starting to have some effect. For a guy who's usually pretty accurate with his passes, some of his mis-fires were pretty erratic (a couple of one-hoppers to Stala, the high passes to Currie & Davis).

I just watched a bit of the home opener on tsn.ca, and he was wearing it then too.
But in a clip from training camp he wasn't.
So maybe it is just added gameday protection in case he bangs his thumb on a helmet.