These are kinda bugging me, what would the rulings be.
These 2 situations start with Team A 3rd and 10 (late in the game and needing a TD, FG isn't good enough).
QB throws to WR who catches it for an 11 yard gain. After catching the ball he voluntarily runs in three yards to try to get around the defender to get more YAC. He's tackled before he can make his move. Does he get an 11 yard gain and the 1st down, or is it a turnover on downs?
1A. If it was his momentum that carried him in, does that make a difference?
QB throws to the WR who catches it for a 9 yard gain and steps out of bounds without making the first down (Poor awareness of the yardsticks obviously). A defender smokes him out of bounds for an unnecessary roughness penalty. Is it 1st down for Team A (9 yards + 15 = 24 total) or does the turnover on downs occur and Team B takes the ball 15 yards back?
Now for one inspired by the BC/EDM game.
Team A has all three dressed Quarterbacks injured in the game. None can return. Now what?
Team A running back takes a handoff and starts to juggle the ball before he enters the endzone. After crossing the goal line, he drops the ball. Team B apparently recovers. What is the correct ruling?
Team A 1st and 10 at their own 3 yard line. Team A QB is sacked in the endzone, but it was a clear shot to the head resulting in an unnecessary roughness penalty. Does the safety still count?
5A. No shot to the QB's head after being sacked in the endzone, but after the play a defensive player takes a potshot at an o-lineman after the play resulting in the unnecessary roughness penalty. Does this change the ruling?
5B. Same situation, but instead of unnecessary roughness, a defensive player loudly tells the referee that his parents had never been married, and also draws Mr Referee's mother's species into question. What would be the correct ruling on the field, assuming a flag is thrown? Does the safety still count?
I don't know the answers, but am certainly wondering about them.
unless he fumbled the ball, it's 1st and ten from where they stopped him.
1A. no
There would be a penalty, and 1st and ten as you said.
someone plays QB, or they forfit I think
Team B gets possension of the ball on the next play, and the ball is spotted at the 25 yard line, assuming the guy that recoved it didn't run it out of the endzone.
no, if a penalty can take away a TD, it can a safety.
What do you mean by “he runs in three yards”? Are you saying he ran back three yards, ran in a lateral direction three yards or what? If he runs back on his own and is tackled I believe that is where the ball should be spotted. If the defender’s tackle forced him back then forward progress would mean the ball would be spotted as an 11 yard catch.
Agree with backinblackCA21. Also, with the unnecessary roughness penalty it is an automatic first down so even if it was 3rd and 30, it would have been a first down under the circumstances you gave.
I think another position player could play QB.
Agree with backinblackCA21.
Agree with backinblackCA21.
5A) Agree with backinblackCA21 with the yardage from the penalty being applied on the kick-off.
5B) The safety would stand but there would be an objectionable conduct penalty (and possibly a disqualification) against the defender which would be applied to the kick-off.
Excerpt of what constitutes an Objectionable Conduct penalty:
A player shall be penalized for any act of objectionable conduct, including but not limited to:
a.verbal abuse or objectionable gesture directed at an opponent, official or spectator,
Excerpt from Disqualification rule:
A player shall be disqualified from the game, and substitution permitted, for any act of serious misconduct, including but not limited to:
c. excessive objectionable conduct against an opponent or an official,
For 3 theyd would the team would have to make it clear that they are designating a specific player as the QB and make the opposition aware of that as well
For 5b. It is definitely an objectionable conduct penalty but it is after the play and the penalty will be applied on the kickoff.
General rule of thumb for if a penalty negates a score is whether it happened after the play or not anything after the play will not negate a score.
Really depends on if the running back ever had control of the ball between when it broke the plane of the goal line and when the ball was recovered. If he did not have control of the ball going into the endzone or at all while in the endzone then its a fumble with the recovering team getting the ball on their 25 or 35 otherwise a TD. There was a controversial play about this several years back before the video review system was brought in. During an Als Argos playoff game Calvillo looked like he was running in for a touchdown but at the goal line he lost control of the ball. The ref ruled it a touchdown but if video review was in place at the time the call on the field likely wouldve been overturned
The UR in this case is a "dead ball foul" as the play was over the second the WR stepped out of bounds. Yards were not gained by team A, so Team B takes over the ball 15 yards back of the spot of the ball. A penalty can not award possession
But if he briefly got control of the ball in the endzone before it came loose then it would be ruled a touchdown similar to if the offensive team were to recover the fumble
@bowl
A horsecollar tackle is when a player grabs inside the back collar of another player while making a tackle. The front is OK because hte player getting tackled will move with the flow of the tackle but from behind it chokes the player being tackled and can cause throat and neck problems particularly if the tackler gets inside the shoulder pads
A horsecollar tackle is when a player grabs inside the back collar of another player while making a tackle. The front is OK because hte player getting tackled will move with the flow of the tackle but from behind it chokes the player being tackled and can cause throat and neck problems particularly if the tackler gets inside the shoulder pads
[/quote]
thank you
I have a question,
What if the quarter back was to have the ball on his five yard line, he drops back to pass into the endzone, gets pressured, he decides to run makes it to the 2 yard line, but gets hit into the endszone, is it a safety? or does it go by forward momemtum for that as well?