Antwi Play Lastweek

Hey guys, sorry if this was already discussed somewhere, but I’m interested in what your thoughts were on the Antwi play where it looked like he tried to kick the ball?

Was the issue that the ball was only slightly contacted and bounced backwards, ruling it a fumble? That if the kick had traveled forward a few yards, past the LOS it would have been a 1st down regardless of where the 1st down marker lies? (as long as the ball is recovered ofcourse)
If that is the rule, it seems crazy we haven’t seen this play tried more often.