All teams should have domed stadiums

Going thru my Raiders news and I can't understand why ALL 9 CFL franchises do not have a retractable roof.

Look at Allegiant Stadium. How hard can it be to retrofit a roof on each of the remaining stadiums in the CFL that do not have a roof?

You can have the season begin in September and end in January if you want.

If North Dakota State and the Las Vegas Raiders can do it, why can't the CFL?!

This would end weather restrictions once and for all.

I think the answer is simple. Most, if not all, teams can’t afford it and I doubt governments would be willing to cough up $200 million x 8 for roofs. That’s apparently approximately what it would have cost for Winnipeg’s stadium in 2013. The CFL economics ain’t the same as NFL economics, or even NCAA division 1 economics.

6 Likes

C'mon man! You can have a Amazon-like warehouse roof. How hard can this be?!

I've see Home Depot roofs and this can't be that hard!

I’m no engineer but I don’t think it is anywhere near that simple.

Besides, every few years there is talk about the survival of the league. There is nowhere near the money it would cost to roof stadiums, whatever that might be. I also believe it costs a lot more to roof an existing stadium than build one in during original construction. And there sure won’t be 9 new stadiums constructed.

2 Likes

You put a warehouse structure around the stadium! Nothing attaches to the existing stadium.

As I said, I’m no engineer but it still sounds like it would cost far too much for the poor CFL. Toronto played a game at home tonite with first place on the line and there was no way there were more than 5,000 fans in the stands. It just does not compute with me.

3 Likes

That because the CFL won't adopt my numerous suggestions. And those suggestions were not rule changes to the game.

In the persona of coach Woody Hayes, "you people in the CFL had to do you own gawd damn dumb way!"