A team-by-team look at the 2022 CFL Draft

TORONTO — Now that the 2022 CFL Draft is in the books, fans are anxious to see how their teams fared across the six rounds.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.cfl.ca/2022/05/03/a-team-by-team-look-at-the-2022-cfl-draft/

Quick look @ draft - BC did very well, as did Mtl, Toronto & Ottawa. Elks, then Riders & Stamps. Hamilton got 1 guy, Federico who was highly ranked but also picked up a good OL & ST by trade. Bombers pretty much sat out the draft. Their one high ranked pick is a good one & in a position of need while Alexander is out. Trading for Lawson gives them some depth @ DT.

1 Like

Customer came into the store this morning, bought a bunch of footballs. I commented that someone was a football fan. She said, "My son is getting drafted today." Turned out it was Noah Zerr's Mom.

4 Likes

Cool. Funny, but I thought the Bombers might take him if he was still available. Missed it by that much.

1 Like

Well... we got a Canadian DB for added depth and a big bodied Canadian DL to possibly maybe someday replace our missing Stove. That's about everthing Kyle Walters wanted to get out of this draft I guess.

Carry on everybody (congrats to the rest of you)

Couldn't have said it better myself. :grin:

1 Like

Ottawa did the best picking an OL in the first and second rounds.
They need to protect the QBs.
Looking through the past 5 years of the Cdn draft you can see that the Canadian DBs picked will be groomed as safety or assigned special teams. Same with the DLs and LBs picked, all become special teams and backups.
The receivers will be backups and groomed to start at the Cdn position eventually, none will start in their first year.
Half of the players picked will be gone by the end of training camp.
The Canadian QB, Ford will likely be kept around on the practice roster. With teams going with 2 QBs on the active roster, it gets more difficult to keep more than 3 QBs around