2010 Draft

As I have said before, i'm rather new to the CFL (and CIS too) so i'm not really up on who the top prospects are for the 10 draft. Living in London I know that Micheal Faulds just finished his OUA career. Will he be a top pick come May? It would be nice to see a Canadian QB in the show!

Heres the CIS scouting bureaus top 15 for September...notice 7 guys from NCAA and 8 from CIS, pretty good mix. Shomari Williams transfered from Houston to Queens. I watched him play on Saturday,the guy`s a beast.

I wonder how TSN and the CFL will improve the draft from last year. I watched it and it was good, but I think it could be even better, more entertaining.

http://www.cfl.ca/page/cfl_scouting_september_2009

Should I be shocked that Michael Faulds is not listed? ....because I am.

I believe Faulds is not draft eligeable because he is a 5th year player, thus making him a free agent. A CIS player must be drafted before his 5th year.

Michael Faulds is not listed primarily because he is a quarterback, and the way the league is set up now there is absolutely no incentive to develop a Canadian quarterback.

It is unlikely that Faulds will be drafted at all, and if he is, it will be in the later rounds and he'll be unlikely to ever play a down in the CFL unless he converts to fullback or something like Mathieu Bertrand of the Eskimos.

Furthermore - the 2010 draft class is supposed to be very deep, much like 2008 class which has produced or is likely to produce about 25 legitimate CFL starters/long-time reserves and special teamers. Compare that to 2007, which will end up being more like 10, and 2009 which isn't likely going to be higher than 12-13. It's definitely a year in which 2nd-4th round picks will go a long way.

PLUS...here are five more prospects that Duane Forde puts up at the top (along with the 15 already mentionned)

Eddie Steele (DT - Manitoba)
Cauchy Muamba (CB - St. Francis Xavier)
Josh Bishop (SB - Wilfrid Laurier)
Michael Carter (CB - Maryland)